Future Islands

From the fertile soil of Baltimore, Maryland, Future Islands are a dreamy synth-pop trio who are perhaps best-described by 20JFG.com as “the house band for a desert plateau from which you can see only stars”. Their music is intensely motivational, painfully beautiful, and impossibly refined pop, delivered with incredible power and conviction by the chest-thumping thug-casanova that is vocalist J. Gerrit Welmers, and the band as a whole are a passionate tender-hearted monster in possession of a strange and delicate esoteric genius.





OIB Split Volume 5 feat:
Future Islands | Why? | Casiotone for the Painfully Alone | Nullifier

OIB020 | 4 Tracks
Casiotone for the Painfully Alone – Goodbye Parthenon / Why? – Close to Me / Future Islands – New Face / Nullifier - Quesht 
7" | Limited to 450 copies

Following on from OIB Records Split Series Volume 3 (featuring Lovvers; Knyfe Hyts; The Death Set; Best Fwends) and OIB Records Split Series Volume 4 (featuring Calories; Tubelord; My Device; Oneida) comes OIB Records Split Series Volume 5, a limited edition 7” bringing together four of the most exciting and experimental electro-pop party bands.

Future Islands – New Face

An unused off-cut written for the psychedelic music-based children’s TV show, “Yo Gabba Gabba”, Future Islands fist-pumping anthem New Face is equal parts Springsteen’s “Dancing In The Dark”, eerie panoramic synth pop encore, and dreamy electro power-ballad. From Baltimore, Maryland, Future Islands have proven themselves to be true masters of simple, direct and immensely powerful “rock”, in its most undiluted form.

Limited to just 450 copies worldwide each record comes with reversible gatefold sleeves, inserts and one-inch badges designed by the bands involved.

**OIB Records webstore exclusive, the first 50 sales of Split Series Volume 5 come with a very limited edition set of all 4 badges, each one designed by the bands involved, retail copies only come with one badge for the corresponding artists cover.